top of page
  • Writer's pictureWriter for DDI on Medium

4 Ways to Increase Engagement on Your Website When You're In The Caribbean


Increase Engagement on Your Website with a bite-sized service

If your ideal client visits your website right now, would they be welcomed by a process for them to follow that feels like you’re holding their hand as they learn on the fly how to work with you? Can you safely testify that they leave your services shouting, “Oh my gosh! That was so simple, I only wish I had more things to buy”? Or, are they typically overwhelmed by having too many options to choose from, and feel like you’ve left them hanging on account of not knowing where the starting line is?


As I've Said, It's A Bad Idea To List A Bunch Of Services On Your Website


If you're looking for a tasteful way to incorporate multiple services on one site, you need to figure out the correlation between them all. Many locals make the mistake of only considering what's feasible for them, and neglect to give consideration to the end-user's experience. Strategy matters here. It's about you, but it's also about your ideal client. Determining which service is more valuable works, but lets not forget value is subjective. If you want professional help positioning your services you can always reachout to me via options listed below. But for a 'how to do' article, I'd recommend finding the thread that connects all the services, ignore the services that don't fit, and create the user-experience from there with these 4 steps.


#1. Find Your Focus


Think of the best book you've ever read. You probably didn’t need to go very far in your memory to recall the moment you experienced that. From the cover to the smallest detail I’m sure it’s all there. Well, when you place your business online, essentially, you’re setting the opportunity for your ideal client to encounter the best digital book they’ll ever read. And the way your onboarding and project process unfolds instantly communicates how much experience you have under your belt, doing what you do in the form it’s presented with people like them.


The focus of that entire experience is like the title of your online book. Without it, you’re basically invisible. It’s there to get the right “readers” interested and ready to learn more by preparing them for what’s on the inside of your website. Essentially this part helps them understand what it is you do and that this service is for them.


Everything you do afterward only builds upon this foundation. So, don’t be lame and choose something #SlickRicky-ish. Turn over everything in your business and examine how the clients you have gotten responded to it. Why did they buy it? Then, decide if it’s worth being on the cover of your book. If you’re too close to the project, ask someone you would consider an ideal client what their reaction might be to whatever the main attraction is. If you’re getting crickets or even a hint of boredom mixed with a lost stare, you should probably go back to the drawing board.


In other words, don’t lead with something your audience doesn’t want to speak about.


#2. Productize Your Offers


Sometimes, a client can very specifically want something until they are in the actual process of a project where the real needs come up. An example of this would be a client coming to me for a One-Page-Website but needing a brand logo and/or a business logo designed as well (this has happened a few times).


What are the needs of your ideal client? Using the power of 3, can you create specific offers that cater to those problems instead of a grocery list of services for them to choose from? The idea when creating your offers is to make it easy for them to upsell themselves instead of you pitching.


Like most, in the beginning, even under instructions, I broke this rule. But that happens when you’re green to how the online world works and also have no clients! As I got clients, and also sharpened my listening and observation skills, I was better equipped to create offers that I know my ideal clients need.


Do you know what your clients really need?


#3. Sell A Bite-Sized Service


The experience you’re going for with a bite-sized service is for a prospect to feel like ‘OMG! This is a sweet offer!’ and magically converts into a customer.


This is an ice breaker, the idea isn’t to just sell something but to sell something obviously connected to your brand that also solves a problem, and is an immediate requirement of your ideal prospect. It’s without a doubt the best red beryl I found in my possession. Each time a new prospect learns about it, the expression “OMG are you kidding me!?”, is always right around the corner, and it’s super easy for them to upsell themselves to my other offers without coaxing on account of this experience.


What red beryl do you have in place for your ideal clients to experience before they possibly make a bigger investment in the service you provide?


#4. Create Focused Content


When I first began blogging, I felt confused about what I should talk about. Sure, I needed new clients in order to discover that, but without a voice, it can make the process of doing the work to get them very frustrating. So a lot of me spinning my wheels was divided between waiting for a referral to work with new clients, and reflecting on my old clients (I was employed as a graphic designer for many years prior to working for myself) and articulating the things I found.


That's how I came up with The One-Page Project — it's a type of creative project I do with my ideal clients and out of those specific encounters, I found my voice. Now I know what I need to specifically talk about because I have deep experience doing the work with clients.


Rushing to Google Trends to target someone in a specific situation with a specific need without first understanding the talking points of your brand in comparison to leveraging what you've encountered with your clients, doesn't build real confidence so by not as rewarding.



It takes time to create focused content, but you'll make it even harder on yourself if you approach it with a 'when I reach that bridge I'll cross it' thinking. I always try to remind my clients that they're also building their buisness along siad the work they do with clients. So pay attention to the situation they were in, before coming to you, you're point of view and voice are in there.


...Also


what responsive website means
TheBrandTUB Visitor Analytics Report

These 4 things affect your bounce rate. According to this report by visitor analytics, my bounce rate dropped to 39% after restructuring my blog and grooming the path potential clients take on my website when they want to check out my work and initiate working with me. Compared to the 54% my bounce rate was the month before. Inother words the way someone experiences your brand online can make or break the level of engagement on your website.


 

I am the Founder and Visual Brand Strategist at The BrandTUB **Get online in one day with The One-Page **Schedule a call if you need a different One-Page project **Sign up to receive these weekly articles in your inbox if you’re not quite ready to work with me yet.


And please share my article if you liked it

Kommentare


bottom of page